Ørecomm, Copenhagen, and Other Musings

refuse to stay still
I planned to start this blog a while ago with writings, reflections, musings – 25 minutes worth for every day. That hasn’t happened. Well, now it is. I just needed something to write about, I guess.

We just finished attending the Ørecomm Festival in and around Copenhagen. It’s 5 in the morning and I couldn’t sleep, still buzzing about the conference and my time here in Denmark and Sweden. There’s a lot to process.

For one, this is honestly my first academic conference or conference abroad. I’ve attended and presented at professional conferences, but this was different. It was eye-opening for the sheer diversity presented. I now have a better sense of what a career in the academy means. I mean, I’m married to a tenured professor. So, I know something.

Anyway, the first thing I need to do is clean up my writing (if that wasn’t already obvious). I’m a little loose with the grammar and syntax. It’s time to tighten up these ideas I possess. Do a little more showing and a lot less telling, etc.

Research is at the forefront of my mind at the moment. Aside from the ethnography workshop I attended, there were many approaches and theories to consider. First of all, I’ve learned that I can make up my own process. I just need to support my ideas. There’s this idea of remixing the research process, and idea I’ve heard/seen in numerous ways. The difference is that now I have some conceptual framework to consider. Then, there’s always IRB, but I think from the little experience I’ve had, that won’t be a problem.

Second, the word “participatory” came up over and over. This really got me thinking. How can I design courses that are participatory for our students? Then, once the instructional design is out of the way, how will I research it? I have some ideas for a self-paced course based on issues or topics and linked to standards (always with the standards). Students would shape their own curriculum, revising the standards and identifying what actions they will take meet those standards. There’s more to it than this, but this is where I am at the moment. There’s a paper in there, but more on that later.

There’s so much more I can take from this conference. I constantly found aspects of instructional design in the papers and projects presented. Whether it was from the ingenuity displayed in presentation styles or the ideas that took me back to the global education days of my MA program at Ohio State, my mental and electronic notebooks are full.

The next step is to find a way to present next year. It will require another grant (one I’ve found should do the trip) and lots of writing. I have ideas that need shaping and organizing, but this is a good start. In fact, I’ve had two (joint) papers accepted for two separate conferences accepted recently. The CV builds.

Of course, we also had some fun while in Copenhagen.

I visited both of the Mikkeller bars. For those who are unaware, Mikkeller holds a special place in my heart. A Google search of my name will probably tell you all you need to know.

What Mikkeller does is challenge convention while sticking to a tried and true process of crafting fine beer. All of their beers are interesting and most are delicious. Their attention to detail and design is inspiring. The alcohol levels of their product doesn’t hurt either.

Of course, this is in the larger context of Copenhagen itself. A beautifully complicated city, Copenhagen has left its mark on us. Bicycles and baby buggies fill the streets instead of SUVs and minivans. Folks are friendly and party late into the night regardless of the day. The weather is cool and wet, not unlike the Pacific Northwest (my other favorite place).

I feel energized from Ørecomm and its host cities. Something my studies and work both needed. I feel a bit recharged and ready to take on some monumental tasks which include re-invisioning our organization, contemplating global entrepreneurship, and how will I research it all.

It’s an exciting time. Hopefully, I will have 25 minutes worth to write every day, possibly more about Ørecomm. Things to do. Things to say about the things I do. And maybe I’ll even learn to say them better than I did here.

This:

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Ørecomm, Copenhagen, and Other Musings

  1. […] I went to Copenhagen and spent lots of time drinking my way through Mikkeller‘s lineup. […]

Reply

